MVP Recipes

2
A bowl full of shell pasta covered in vibrant green kale sauce, strips of shaved parmesan, and grated parmesan.
Hook your family on kale sauce pasta. | Photo by Hillary Dixler Canavan

Don’t know what to cook? Start here.

When I can't decide, I turn to my mvp recipes: The ones that always work and always end up being just what I wanted.

Sharing recipe recommendations is an important part of The New Family Table community, so I'm excited to share this list with you. This is a living document, so expect occasional updates. I also look forward to showcasing more of The New Family Table's original recipes here as we grow.

What are your mvp recipes? Drop them in the comments below or in Table Chat!

CHICKEN

Basic Roasted Chicken - Hillary Dixler Canavan, Instagram

This is the technique to convince even the most reluctant cook that roasting a whole chicken is actually simple. You got this!

Chicken Congee - Hillary Dixler Canavan, Instagram

Pure comfort food, infinitely adaptable, congee is perfect for when you have leftover chicken or a rotisserie chicken hanging out in the fridge.

Pan-Roasted Chicken with Harissa Chickpeas - Dawn Perry, Bon Appétit

This recipe is in my family’s hall of fame: It’s my go-to one-pan meal, it’s proof of the supremacy of bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs, and it makes amazing leftovers. 

Instant Pot Chicken Noodle Soup - Kristine Rosenblatt, Kristine’s Kitchen

So far, I’m hearing from readers that you do want some easy Instant Pot recipes. This one fits the bill; it’s reliable and truthfully one of the only meals I regularly use my Instant Pot for. I like adding extra lemon and dill to liven things up a bit.

VEGETABLES & GRAINS

Kale Sauce Pasta - Joshua McFadden, adapted by Tejal Rao NYT Cooking

Once you start making kale sauce, you will not stop, as it is a way to feed your family all the kale you continue to buy and then forget to cook. I like to jazz up my sauce with lemon juice, lemon zest, and basil.

Kasama's Mushroom Adobo - Tim Flores & Genie Kwon, Eater: 100 Essential Restaurant Recipes, by Hillary Dixler Canavan

This is one of the easiest restaurant recipes I collected while writing the Eater cookbook. While Kasama serves this dish at brunch, it makes for a savory, vegetable-focused dinner. You can easily make this recipe entirely vegan, too. 

Maroulosalata - Suzy Karadesh, The Mediterranean Dish

I love herby salads, and this one has become my go-to. I make it at least once a week.

Crisp Gnocchi With Brussels Sprouts and Brown Butter - Ali Slage, NYT Cooking

This is the recipe that got my preschooler into brussels sprouts. Adjustments: I often swap in broccoli, I usually cut the amount of butter in half, and I don't always use the honey, either (sometimes I'll do balsamic vinegar, sometimes I just enjoy the butter and lemon combo as-is).

Sesame Tofu With Broccoli - Hetty Lui McKinnon, Bon Appétit

Genius use of tahini, genius technique for crisping up the tofu, and also works with other vegetables besides broccoli.

FISH

A bowl with rice topped with sliced cucumbers, furikake, and spicy salmon.
The most forgiving salmon recipe. | Photo by Hillary Dixler Canavan

Spicy Salmon Bowls - by Hillary Dixler Canavan, Instagram

A genuinely fool-proof way to make salmon. When I'm making this for my family, I typically set aside my daughter's portion first, and then add sriracha to the mix for the adults. 

Baked Cod With Buttery Cracker Topping - Sarah DiGregorio, NYT Cooking

This is an easy crowd-pleaser, thanks to the Ritz cracker crust and simple preparation. 

MEAT

Shaking Beef - Genio Ng, Instagram

For some reason, this is one of the only beef recipes my preschooler will reliably eat. All this takes is 30 minutes marinading in the fridge - the rest comes together quick enough to be a weeknight staple.

Crispy Chickpeas and Lamb With Greens and Garlicky Yogurt - Alison Roman, Dining In

Admittedly this recipe is more of an adult favorite in our home than a kid favorite, but I love how it takes two reliable wins (chickpeas + olive oil and lamb + cumin) and combines them for a hearty main dish complete with greens and yogurt sauce.

Air Fryer Memphis-Style BBQ Pork Ribs - Ben Mims, Air Fry Every Day

Is it a hack if it’s just making the most of a convenient appliance? Not sure but yes, make dry-spiced ribs in the air fryer and mess with the seasoning however you’d like to suit your family palate.

Leave a comment